Finland’s premiere documentary film festival DocPoint launched two annual competitions at the 2021 festival.

The DocPoint Yle Award for Best International Documentary Film and DocPoint Yle Award for Best Finnish Documentary Film, each worth 5000 Euros, are funded by the national broadcaster Yle.

10-12 feature length films included in DocPoint’s international selection are nominated each year for the DocPoint Yle Award for Best International Documentary Film. DocPoint’s national competition series consists of new Finnish titles over 40 minutes in length. Films in both competitions must be Finnish premieres.

Two juries consisting of international and Finnish experts select the award winners in both competitions. The award winners are announced at the DocPoint Award Gala at the end of the festival.

Aho & Soldan Award:

The Aho & Soldan Lifetime Achievement Award has been granted since the first DocPoint festival in 2002. The criteria for receiving the award are significant efforts in developing creative Finnish documentary filmmaking, as well as a long and outstanding career as a documentary film director.

Aho & Soldan Award winners:

2021: Tuuli Kuittinen
2018: Mika Kaurismäki
2014: Kanerva Cederström
2011: Pekka Lehto
2010: Kiti Luostarinen
2005: Peter von Bagh
2004: Pirjo Honkasalo
2003: Lasse Naukkarinen
2002: Markku Lehmuskallio

Apollo Award:

The Apollo Award is granted to a person or organization who has worked to promote the Finnish documentary film industry in a significant way.

Apollo Award winners:

2020: Juha Samola
2019: Marita Hällfors
2017: Eila Ranta (Werning)
2016: Illume Oy
2015: Reijo Nikkilä
2013: Tuula Mehtonen
2012: Iikka Vehkalahti
2009: Epidem Oy
2008: Jörn Donner
2007: Ilkka Kippola
2006: Jarmo Jääskeläinen